Traveling Dreams

Welcome to my new blog devoted to travel.  I am glad you have stopped by for a visit.

You can read more about my lifelong desire to travel and see the world in the About Me section, but suffice it to say, this has been my heart’s passion since the age of eight.  From that time I knew that I would not be satisfied with the typical whirlwind tourist excursion.  No… I know that I want to see and experience these countries as a native.  I want to learn the language, frequent the neighborhood restaurants and markets, meander through the side streets with no regard to a tight time schedule.

I was able to whet my appetite in 2011 when I took a two-week solo journey to Paris.  I stayed in an apartment in the Montmartre section of the city, home to the Impressionists and modern-day artists.  I had plenty of time to visit the iconic landmarks, as well as venture outside the city to Giverny (home of Monet), Auvers (VanGogh’s last home), and Sancerre (a delightful French wine region).  I hope to chronicle this adventure in several future posts on this blog.

But as wonderful as this trip was… I must confess that it left me wanting more.  And on the transatlantic flight back home a dream was born which over time has become an obsession.  I enjoyed the solo trip, but I also discovered that I missed sharing my adventures with others at the end of the day.  My dream would be for both my husband and I to travel internationally together … and I wonder if by publicly sharing, I will strengthen my resolve to make this dream a reality.

So here it is:

My dream is divided into three-month segments – because ninety days is the longest one can stay in a foreign country without a Visa.   I want us to rent an apartment in each of these cities so that we can truly become a part of a neighborhood.  I had a terrific experience with Home Away when I journeyed to Paris, and I plan to use them again.

Ideally, we will spend spring in Paris (April – May – June) because … well, there is no explanation needed.  I would love  to have the same Montmartre apartment, as it was quite safe, but also centrally convenient to the metro.  I have had the privilege of visiting this city three times already, but my husband have never been.  I will enjoy sharing my favorites with him… and discovering new favorites together.

Perhaps we would return home for the summer months, and then spend October, November and December in New York City.  We lived in Greenwich Village from 1984-1988 and I can tell you that there is no place like Manhattan at Christmas.  Again, we would rent an apartment (perhaps on the Upper West Side) and frequent our old haunts as well as discover new ones.  I envision several days a week spent in Central Park, sitting on a shaded bench and writing my observations of the people as they pass by.

We would then return home to spend holidays with family and then perhaps set off again, this time to Italy for the months of February, March and April.  I am not sure which city we will call home, perhaps Calabria where my mother-in-law’s family originated.  I have a deep desire to research and connect with my children’s Italian heritage, and I can’t wait to be surrounded by lush vineyards and olive groves.

Once again we would return home for the summer and then head out to London for the months of August, September and October.  I have been to London twice, but I yearn to take a literary tour of this land.  I would love to find an apartment in Oxford and pretend to be a part of the Inkling family (JRR Tolkien and CS Lewis).  I would take a weekend excursion to Chawton and visit the estate where Jane Austen penned her famous novels.  I would take another weekend excursion to Haworth to see the Bronte moors first-hand.

I am not naive enough to think that these few trips will quench my thirst for travel.  I anticipate these dreams will grow exponentially, with thoughts of visiting new cities (or perhaps revisiting others) to discover new sights, tastes, cultures, and a home-away-from-home.

That is the dream…. and I dare to believe that it can come true.

 

Categories: Travel Dreams | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Traveling Dreams

  1. Good luck with your blog! Hope it leads you to and follows your dreams~

  2. joyweesemoll

    Love this! I could see myself doing something very similar. I hadn’t thought about the apartment for 3 months idea and how it gets around some of the complications of long-term travel. I like it!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

