A New Adventure

Today is a special day.  Not only is it the first “official” day of summer vacation; it is also the first official day of my new life after teaching.  I don’t want to say that it is my first day of retirement, for I am not fond of the definition:

Retired:  withdrawn from or no longer occupied with one’s business or profession.   Synonyms include elderly, resigned, isolated, secluded, detached.

Interestingly enough… the antonyms for Retired are more descriptive of this new adventure:  active, employed, working.

I have been blessed with the opportunity to redesign my life.  I have not been forced into this position due to downsizing; it is not due to health issues or family crisis.  I am here because I choose to be here; and I am grateful to have the financial resources as well as the familial support to do so.

The first post to this blog discussed my travel dreams:  to spend quantity as well as quality time in London, Paris, Italy and New York City.  And a portion of this new adventure will include the planning, preparation, and completion of this deep-seated passion.

And I have also discussed the desire to find joy in local travels.   I want to practice my photography skills and hone my writing craft prior to these special “trips of a lifetime” … and the midwest offers plenty of opportunity.  I have begun a bucket list of weekend get-aways to St. Louis, Des Moines, Omaha, and Eureka Springs – as well as day trips to Weston, Lawrence, Leavenworth and Atchison.

But the primary focus of this newly created life will be writing, and the writing life is definitely a call to adventure.

Adventure:  an exciting or unusual experience; a bold and usually risky undertaking; hazardous action of uncertain outcome; to take the chance; to dare

There is certainly personal risk involved, as the lines of success and/or failure are blurry at best.  And while I can be a part of a writing support team, this is mostly a solo venture.  I will no longer have anyone to tell me what to do and when to do it.  I am responsible for setting a schedule and keeping to it.  I will need to learn to deal with rejection, grow that “thick skin” and develop the self-confidence to keep traveling down the path when perhaps emotions would tell me otherwise.

There is a lot I don’t know about writing, and I am sure many personal lessons that I will encounter along the way, but since I am a strong proponent of life-long learning, this is the perfect next chapter of my life.

I am grateful … and blessed … and excited to embark on this new adventure.

Cheers!  … and Bon Voyage 🙂

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A New Adventure

  1. joyweesemoll

    Let me know when you come to St. Louis! We’re particularly skilled at tours of the Missouri Botanical Garden — and we have a membership level that lets us bring guests in for free.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

